Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Synthroid oral.

    Overall User Ratings

    1059 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    «Previous 631-635 of 750 Next»
    Condition: Underactive Thyroid
    11/18/2008 11:08:26 AM

    Reviewer: JBranch82, 25-34 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    I just started taking this medication about a week ago and i can feel a difference in the way i feel. I have more energy than i ever have. The only draw back is that im always hungry but im watching how much i take in because i dont want the weight gain.

    Condition: Underactive Thyroid
    11/16/2008 9:54:09 AM

    Reviewer: uresti, 25-34 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    I was recently diagnosed with hypothyrodism 2 months ago. My doctor put me on Synthroid and I have noticed wonderful changes!! This has been a miracle medication for me!! I am no longer wishing I was asleep every minute of the day, and my hair is no longer falling out as much. I have more energy then I can remember and have actually been able to lose 3 pounds so far!!

    Condition: Underactive Thyroid
    11/14/2008 11:35:05 AM

    Reviewer: Tammy, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 1

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 4

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    I was on the generic brand but it didn't work for me. I tried the synthroid, and I was more tired, more irritable. I couldn't function at all. I am now off it because it's only slighlty elevated. My doctor said eventually I woul dhave to back on it. The weight gain is killing me and my leg cramps are horrible. I wish they would come out with something better. It's very hard living ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Underactive Thyroid
    11/14/2008 10:00:43 AM

    Reviewer: sosad4u, 13-18 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 1

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    When I was on this drug I experienced a lot of problems. First of all, I'm an active teenager and having to wait to eat wasn't anything that I wanted to do. I also felt depressed and still had a lack of energy. I don't feel myself when I'm on this drug. I would do anything to not have thyroid problems. =[

    Condition: Underactive Thyroid
    11/14/2008 12:05:04 AM

    Reviewer: nolagirl, 25-34 Female on Treatment for 10 years or more (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 3

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    I had hypothyroidism since i was 12 yrs.old, i am now 32. Synthroid is all i had taken up until 2 years ago, i started taking cytomel with the synthroid. All of you saying synthroid does not work you may need to take cytomel also. Our body needs T3 and T4, synthroid is only made up of T4 not everyone's body converts T3 into T4 that is what cytomel is T4. I cannot tell you how much better i ... Show Full Comment

    «Previous 631-635 of 750 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    Balding man in mirror
    Treatments & solutions.
    No gym workout
    Moves to help control blood sugar.
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    acupuncture needle on shoulder
    10 tips to look and feel good.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    woman biting a big ice cube
    Habits that wreck your teeth.
    pacemaker next to xray
    Treatment options.
    Pink badge on woman chest to support breat cancer
    Myths and facts.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.