Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Prevalite Oral.

Overall User Ratings

42 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 35 Next»
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
8/19/2014 7:18:22 PM

Reviewer: Dncngrama, 75 or over Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
The medication works great, but I have developed severe itching after taking it for about 90 days. A gradual thing. Went off it 3 days ago and getting some relief but still experiencing some itching. Will call Dr. to get advice.

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
8/27/2013 9:34:21 AM

Reviewer: Lisa, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 5 to less than 10 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I had my gall bladder out over 5 years ago and have been on this ever since. Although it is horrible to take (I mix it with anything non-carbonated), the results are fantastic! I would NEVER eat/drink anything away from home (going out to dinner was not an option). Now, it's just part of my life routine and just something I have to do. I always keep some in my purse just in case. Works gr ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
1/7/2013 11:27:15 PM

Reviewer: caknitter, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I had severe problems with diarrhea for several years after my gallbladder was removed. Several doctors told me there was no solution to the problem; my endocrinologist suggested this, and it changed my life. Before, I was apprehensive about eating in a restaurant or going to someone's home for a meal. It has taken a little experimenting to adjust the dosage and frequency, but I've never t ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
12/2/2012 9:02:23 AM

Reviewer: SuzyTee, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Really, really works to prevent bile salt diarrhea. The problem is, this brand (Prevalite) doesn't taste very good. I have had a much better taste experience with Sandoz Cholestyramine Light, which actually tastes good.

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
2/2/2012 9:02:12 AM

Reviewer: Theresa, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 5 to less than 10 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
Had gall bladder out 5 years ago and on Prevalite ever since. Once a day, mixed into unsweetened iced tea. "Dumping syndrome" not the problem it used to be.

1-5 of 35 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

feet
Solutions for 19 types.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
Woman running
Boost Your Metabolism.
build a better butt
How to build a better butt.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
young woman in sun
What to watch for.
brain scan with soda
Tips to kick the habit.
row of colored highlighter pens
Tips for living better.
stressed working woman
And how to fix them?
fat caliper
Check your BMI.
woman dreaming
What Do Your Dreams Say About You?
man with indigestion
How to keep yours at bay.

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.